Time is a book

Dirk Braeckman, Els Dietvorst
Time Festival, MER. Paper Kunsthalle
34 x 24.5cm
Show all credits
Show less credits

TIME 2009 was the ninth and last edition of the Time Festival, but above all a statement made by the curators / artists and Dirk Braeckman Els Dietvorst. TIME 2009 is a book and not a festival. A place to think, not an event. 

TIME IS A BOOK is the turmoil that both curators share. Concern about the future of the arts but especially anxiety about the future of man and his world. This book begins with a fundamental curiosity: looking at how other artists approach this concern. More than 50 artists were invited to use their own medium to contribute their views on the thems of this book, to express in words them or image.

TIME IS A BOOK is a surprising experimental space on paper, a sketchbook of ideas and dreams.

Contributing Artists:
Chantal Akerman | ACM & Els Dietvorst | Robert Adams | Philip Aguirre y Otegui | Herman Asselberghs | Orla Barry | John Berger | Yves Berger & Daniel Michiels | Wang Bing | Bitter / Weber | Dirk Braeckman & Peter Verhelst | Bureau d’Etudes | Boris Charmatz | Wim Cuyvers | Carl De Keyzer | Clayton Eshleman | Belu Simion Fainaru | Jasmina Fekovic | Nikolaus Gansterer | Mekhitar Garabedian | Pieter Geenen | Elias Grootaers | Jitka Hanzlova | Stefan Hertmans | Craigie Horsfield | Suchan Kinoshita | Mark Klett | Franciska Lambrechts | Marije Langelaar | Dirk Lauwaert | Lynne Cohen & Andrew Lugg | Mark Manders | Susan Meiselas | Jean-Luc Moulène | Simon Norfolk | Honoré d’O | Ben Okri | Rimini Protokoll Produktionsburo | Martha Rosler | Gerry Smith | Guy Tillum | Moniek Toebosch | Ana Torfs | Marc Trivier | Jens Ullrich | An van. Dienderen | Sarah Vanagt | Apichatpong Weerasethakul | Eliot Weinberger | Lawrence Weiner | Katarina Zdjelar | Howard Zinn